APEX Foundation
Blogs, Understanding & Tips

UKBA list of English-speaking countries

Sunday, February 24, 2013 by

English-speaking countries symbols

Are you from an English-speaking country?

If you read our article about the IELTS courses, you may wonder: but I am from an English-speaking country, do I need such a course?!

Since English is used in many countries of the world to a varying degree, the UK Border Agency publishes a list of countries that it officially considers as “English-speaking”.

Here’s the list:


When assessing your nationality, we consider that the following are majority English-speaking countries:

  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Australia
  • the Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Belize
  • Canada
  • Dominica
  • Grenada
  • Guyana
  • Jamaica
  • New Zealand
  • St Kitts and Nevis
  • St Lucia
  • St Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • the United States of America

We will confirm your nationality using your passport.

So, there you have it :-)


Questions? Ask below :-) In English, please.

APEX Foundation